Jardine Law Offices, P.C. is now offering video conferencing service for clients who prefer to meet remotely versus in person. Call our office at 801-350-3506 or fill out the form here to schedule a meeting with us, which can be held via video conferencing or phone call.

Juvenile Theft Crimes Lawyer Salt Lake City

By definition, theft crimes are “the unauthorized taking of the property of another with the intent to deprive them of it permanently.” Shoplifting and petty theft are two of the most common theft charges brought against juveniles. When being charged with theft, a minor can be charged with a felony or a misdemeanor. Each offense has different consequences. As a parent or guardian of a minor charged with a theft crime, it is imperative to have them represented in court by the most qualified attorneys.

Jardine Law Offices will make sure your child has the best possible defense and is made a priority. A minor should not have to endure the consequences of a ruined future for a mistake he or she may have made. Contact our offices today at 801-350-3506 for a free case evaluation. Schedule your consultation with a skilled local attorney.

Common theft crimes are:

  • Grand theft
  • Receiving stolen property
  • Petty theft
  • Embezzlement
  • Fraud
  • Shoplifting

Utah criminal statutes also include these theft offenses:

  • Theft by deception
  • Theft by extortion
  • Theft of lost, mislaid, or mistakenly delivered property
  • Theft of services
  • Theft of utility or cable television services
  • Theft of a rental vehicle

Penalties can include:

  • Release to parents
  • Restitution
  • Probation
  • Diversion
  • Counseling
  • Confinement or placement
  • Incarceration
  • Fines up to $100,000
  • Community service

Theft Charges could include:

  • Class B Misdemeanor Theft; property valued at less than $500
  • Class A misdemeanor Theft; property valued at more than $500 but less than $1,500
  • Third-Degree Felony Theft; property valued at more than $1,500 but less than $5,000
  • Second-Degree Felony Theft; property valued at more than $5,000

Whether or not a minor is charged with a misdemeanor or felony depends on the value of what was stolen, their intent, and the age of the minor. More than three-fifths of all youth arrested are referred to a court with juvenile jurisdiction. Depending on the circumstances of the crime, a child who is 14 years old or older can be charged with a felony.

Can a parent or guardian be held responsible?

A parent or legal guardian can be held liable civilly. A parent/guardian is also responsible for monetary care while their child is in the juvenile justice program. Utah courts require parents and guardians to attend all court proceedings, provide transportation, and any other form of support the minor might need to fulfill his or her arrangement with the court. After the child turns 18, the records are not automatically expunged. The process for expunging a record is lengthy and sometimes complicated.

Being convicted of a theft crime can have serious negative impacts on your child’s future. Your child will need experts on his or her side. As a parent, you will need to know what you and your child’s rights and obligations are. Call Jardine Law Office today at 801-350-3506 or visit our website at www.jardinelawoffices.com for a free consultation. We will work diligently to ensure your child’s future is made a priority.