There has been a nationwide crackdown on driving under the influence. Many states have mandatory sentencing and immediate license suspension. DUI penalties can be particularly punishing in Utah. While penalties increase for repeat offenders, even first time DUI offenders can receive jail time, suspended licenses, and more. The penalties stemming from DUI are not exclusive to criminal charges: insurance rates will significantly increase as well.
DUI charges can place lasting negative effects on your life. Without representation from a serious Salt Lake City DUI penalties attorney, you could face the maximum possible DUI penalties. Joseph Jardine and Peter Goodall have the experience to stand up to harsh demands of DUI cases. The legal team at Jardine Law Offices, P.C. are ready to fight for you. We are determined to put your life back on the right track.
Utah DUI penalties have a range of severity depending on the circumstances. There are many factors that can affect the penalties you receive. Everyone makes mistakes, but continued DUI mistakes will result in increasing penalties. With that being said, as with all of Utah, Salt Lake City has some of the strictest DUI penalties across the board. In fact, Utah ranks in the top ten for strictest DUI states. If you were a first time offender, you would face penalties such as the following:
A second time offense would increase your jail time or equivalent community service to 10 days. Your license suspension increase from three months to two years. You would have to drive on a no-alcohol license for a decade.
If you were to offend for a third time, your penalties would increase greatly. You would be dealing with a felony offense. Your minimum jail sentence would be two months and you could potentially receive up to 5 years. You would be forced to drive 6 years with an ignition interlock system. Your fines could be up to $5,000.
You should also be aware that the amount of alcohol in your system could increase the DUI penalties you are dealt. If your blood alcohol level is more than double your legal limit, you could face a 24 month license suspension. You may also receive longer jail time or community service.
DUI penalties are nothing to take lightly. Utah’s DUI penalty system includes increasing levels of jail time, community service, license suspension, ignition interlock, fines, and no-alcohol license issuing. Deciding to navigate Utah’s DUI penalties is extremely ill-advised and could cost you thousands in fines and ignition interlock payments, extended jail time, and the loss of freedom of transportation. It is within you best interests to contact a Salt Lake City DUI penalty attorney.