Bountiful Juvenile DUI Defense Lawyer
The state of Utah frowns on DUI offenders in general, and juvenile DUI offenders are no exception. Driving while intoxicated is a serious matter that comes with serious consequences, even for underage drivers. In Utah, any driver under the age of 21 who drinks and drives can be charged with underage drunk driving, and it is more common than you think. Around 9.5 percent of DUI arrests are among the 15- to 20-year-old crowd. Our state has a very stringent Zero Tolerance policy for underage drives who get behind the wheel while drinking, and anyone 21 and under with a blood alcohol (BAC) level of 0.02 percent or greater faces the harshest penalties for the offense. If your child has been charged with underage drunk driving, it is important to reach out to our Bountiful juvenile DUI attorney at Jardine Law Offices P.C. right away to weigh your child’s legal options.
Penalties for Juvenile DUI Convictions
Some possible penalties for Juvenile DUI convictions include:
- Driver’s License Suspension for Under 21 DUI
- Under 21 First DUI: the license is suspended for 120 days or until the defendant turns 21 years old (whichever is longer)
- Under 21 Second of Subsequent DUI: the license is suspended for 2 years or until the defendant turns 21 (whichever is longer)
- Under 21 Refusal: the license is suspended for 18 months or until the juvenile turns 21 years old (whichever is longer)
- Under 21 Refusal With a Prior Sanction: the license is suspended for 36 months or until the convicted turns 21 (whichever is longer)
- Ignition Interlock Restrictions for Under 21 DUI Convictions: If the individual is under the age of 21 and is convicted of a DUI, then the court will require the installation of an ignition interlock device for 18 months for the first offense, or 3 years for a second or subsequent conviction.
- Alcohol Restrictions: If the driver is under 21 and has an alcohol related conviction, they will be subject to an alcohol restriction for a set period of time, depending on their offense:
- Per Se DUI – 2 years
- DUI – 2 years
- Alcohol Related Reckless Driving – 2 years
- A conviction for an Ignition Interlock Device Violation – 3 years
- A conviction for an Alcohol Restricted Driver Violation – 3 years
- DUI with refusal to submit to chemical testing – 5 years
- Second Conviction for DUI – 10 years
- Second Conviction for Alcohol Related Reckless Driving – 10 years
- Second refusal to submit to chemical testing within 10 years of first offense – 10 years
- Felony DUI – lifetime
- Automobile Homicide – lifetime
Contact Us for Help
As you know, the consequences of being convicted of a DUI, even as a juvenile, can be far-reaching. Your child may find doors closed for him or her that would otherwise lead to a bright future, including pathways that lead to higher education and employment opportunities that require stellar backgrounds. Don’t delay in reaching out to our Juvenile DUI defense attorney now to discuss your child’s DUI case and formulate your best course of legal action moving forward. Set up your no-cost case review at your earliest convenience.