Jardine Law Offices, P.C. is now offering video conferencing service for clients who prefer to meet remotely versus in person. Call our office at 801-350-3506 or fill out the form here to schedule a meeting with us, which can be held via video conferencing or phone call.

Every state has specific regulations regarding controlled dangerous substances- also known as CDS. However, each state differs in the way they classify and define CDS which also affects the punishments for illegal drug possession. Utah classifies some commonly known drugs like cocaine and heroin as CDS. Compounds in what the drugs are made of can also be classified as CDS. If you get caught with a controlled substance in Bountiful, you need to enlist the services of Joseph Jardine and his team of drug possession attorneys.

How The State Of Utah Categories CDS

Utah divides CDS into five categories called “Schedules.” Schedule I lists the most dangerous drugs, drugs that are more likely to be abused and cause addiction and have zero medical value. Schedules II, III, IV, and V decrease in danger and probability of abuse. They also increase in recognized medical value.

If you’ve been arrested for illegal CDS possession, retaining a criminal defense attorney is your first line of defense. The attorneys of Jardine Law Offices P.C. have more than 15 years of experience under their belt defending cases like this. Give our offices a call at 801-350-3506 for a free case evaluation.

Schedule I or II

In Bountiful, it is a third-degree felony to possess Schedule I or II CDS. Penalties include a fine up to $5,000, up to 5 years in prison, or in some cases, both. A second or subsequent conviction is a second-degree felony and carries a fine of up to $10,000, a minimum of one year in prison (up to 15 is possible), or both. If you need legal representation, call the Jardine Law Offices P.C. His team will be able to handle your case with conviction.

Schedules III, IV, and V

In Bountiful, it is a class B misdemeanor to have all other CDS in your possession. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to 180 days in jail, or both. A second conviction is a class A misdemeanor, with a fine of up to $2,500, up to a year in jail, or both. If you need a skilled attorney to represent you, Joseph Jardine has nearly two decades of experience as a drug possession attorney.

Schedule A Free Initial Consultation With A Skilled Drug Possession Attorney

If you find yourself in a situation where you need professional, skilled representation, call the Jardine Law Offices P.C. The attorneys have known this is a trying time and want to help you get your life back on track. Their years of experience as drug possession attorneys bring compassion and conviction to the courtroom on your behalf.

Attorney Joseph Jardine has a proven track record of success when it comes to litigating drug crimes in the state of Utah. Call 801-350-3506 today for a free case evaluation.