In Utah, children as young as 15 years old, participating in a Driver’s Education Program, can be granted a provisional instruction permit effective for one year. At age 16 children may receive a temporary learner permit after successfully passing all parts of the written exam. As your child begins to learn to drive, a parent’s primary concern is the safety of your child. Parents will teach their children one-on-one to drive and/or enroll them in a Driver’s Education Program. The hope is to teach our children to drive safely, legally, and responsibly. However, children are still apt to make bad judgment calls especially when deciding whether or not to get behind the wheel of a car while intoxicated. If your child or juvenile relative has been charged with a DUI, contact Jardine Law offices at 801-451-9555 or visit our website by clicking here for a free case evaluation.
According to the CDC in 2017 high school students surveyed said:
Consequences of minors consuming alcohol can include:
Utah has implemented a “not a drop” law which makes it illegal for drivers under the age of 21 years to drive with ANY detectable amount of alcohol in their system. A driver under 18 with a BAC of 0.01% can be charged with a DUI. If your child is under 18, the Juvenile Court has jurisdiction, except for violations of the “Open Container Law” , in which case the Juvenile Court only has jurisdiction on minors under age 16. Children 16 and older, charged with a DUI, can face adult punishments. If you are the parent or guardian of a minor who has been charged with a DUI, time is of the essence. Contact Jardine Law Offices directly at 801-451-9555. Let our experts help you represent your minor child and protect them from, what could be, adult consequences.