Utah is one of the nation’s strictest states when it comes to underage DUI penalties. Utah takes such a strict approach to underage DUI penalties in attempt to quell dangerous driving patterns from developing among the state’s youth. While the intent is admirable, it can still result in underage drivers starting their adulthood with serious penalties looming over their heads.
If you or your child have recently received an underage DUI, it is vital that you reach out to an experienced Salt Lake City underage DUI attorney. While results vary with every underage DUI charge, a better outcome is rarely reached for someone who does not have representation compared to someone that does. Joseph Jardine and Peter Goodall have spent the majority of the past two decades developing their skills and experience in order to provide quality representation and legal counsel. Reach out to Jardine Law Offices, P.C. as soon as possible to begin planning for the upcoming legal hardships.
As previously mentioned, Utah takes a strict approach to penalizing underage DUIs. This is most apparent in their “Not a Drop” policy. In most states, underage drinkers who are caught driving are still policed under the legal driving limit of the state. Under Utah’s Not a Drop policy, any amount of alcohol in a person under the age of 21 can be charged with an underage DUI. If charged, a minor could lose their driving privileges until they become of legal age to drink. So if a 16 year old is found driving with any amount of alcohol could have their license suspended for five years. That is a longer suspension than a felony DUI.
Utah’s Not a Drop policy can result in seemingly inappropriately hash penalties. For example, imagine a high school senior is about to graduate high school. They have already been accepted to college and their future looks bright and full of potential. Their family decides to throw them a celebratory dinner at a relative’s house. The soon-to-be high school graduate is given a glass of wine with dinner. On the way home, that senior gets pulled over. The arresting officer administers a breathalyzer test and find trace amounts of alcohol. Now, that senior is facing a multiple year license suspension and their future is in jeopardy. While such a penalty seems harsh, it is entirely possible under Utah Law.
Whatever the case may be, you should contact a Salt Lake City underage DUI attorney if you or a loved one was recently charged. Electing to proceed with the underage DUI without representation can lead to sustainable penalties that can plague the minor for years to come. With Utah’s tough stance on drinking and driving, you need to know that your attorney has the experience and qualifications to provide representation. With over 15 years of experience doing just that, Joseph Jardine and Peter Goodall can provide strong legal guidance and representation for your underage DUI charge. Call Jardine Law Offices, P.C. for a free consultation.